


 

20 Trinity Street • Hartford, Connecticut • 06106—1628 
Phone: (860) 256-2940 • Toll Free-CT Only: 1-866-SEEC-INFO • Email:  SEEC@ct.gov • Internet: www.ct.gov/seec 

Affirmative Action / Equal Opportunity Employer 

 

               STATE OF CONNECTICUT    
 STATE ELECTIONS ENFORCEMENT COMMISSION 
  

              

  

                

  

                 

  

  

     

 

 

PROPOSED DECLARATORY RULING 2019-01: 

The State Contractor Status of Medical Marijuana Industry Licensees 

 

On October 25, 2018, the State Elections Enforcement Commission (the “Commission”) 

received a request for a Declaratory Ruling by Attorney Andrew C. Glassman of Pullman 

& Comley LLC concerning whether medical marijuana industry licenses would be 

considered state contracts.  At its regular meeting on November 14, 2018, the 

Commission voted to initiate a declaratory ruling proceeding responsive to this petition. 

 

In September 2018, Mr. Glassman verbally inquired of staff whether a company that has 

a license issued by the State of Connecticut to produce medical marijuana in the state is 

considered a state contractor.  Given that the monetary thresholds in this licensing 

arrangement appear to have been met since the cost of the license exceeded $50,000 per 

year and the definition of state contract includes “a licensing arrangement,” staff advised 

that such licenses would likely be covered. 

 

Mr. Glassman now seeks a formal ruling from the Commission, arguing that “licensing 

arrangement” is not meant to include “[licensees] operating a trade or business within the 

state” because such a license is not a bilateral agreement between two parties and the 

state contractor restrictions are only meant to cover contracts in which the State is paying 

the party for services rather than the party paying the State.  He further contends that such 

an interpretation would lead to the absurd result that occupational licenses such as those 

for barbers, doctors, and lawyers, would be covered by the state contractor ban. 

 

Executive Summary 

 

The plain language of General Statutes § 9-612 (f) (1) (C) clearly indicates that the 

medical marijuana industry licenses would be considered state contracts.  Even if the 

language of the statute itself was not clear, the legislative history of the 2007 changes to 

the definition of state contract favors this reading: “[O]ne of the things that this bill does 

is it expands the application of the prohibitions on contributions and solicitations by 

principals of state contractors to cover virtually any agreement, contract, or arrangement 

with the state for which the value is at least $50,000 in a calendar year, which includes 

fees, compensation, or remuneration of any kind.” S. Proc., 2007 Sess., pp. 51-52, 

remarks of Senator Slossberg on Public Act 07-01. 

 

I. Background 

 

In 2012, Public Act 12-55, An Act Concerning the Palliative Use of Marijuana, became 

law. This Act permits the medical use of marijuana statewide for certain medical 

conditions, making Connecticut the seventeenth state to enact such a law.  See Chapter 

420f of the General Statutes (as amended by Public Act 12-55).  The Act tasked the 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/2012/ACT/PA/2012PA-00055-R00HB-05389-PA.htm
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Department of Consumer Protection (“DCP”) to run the medial marijuana program.  

There are three types of licenses issued by the State under the Program: (1) dispensary 

licenses; (2) dispensary facility licenses; and (3) producer licenses.1  All licenses issued 

under the Program expire one year after the date of their issuance and annually thereafter 

if renewed.  Regs., Conn. State Agencies § 21a-408-25 (b).  Licensees are required to file 

a renewal application and the proper fees, as set forth below, 45 days prior to the 

expiration of the license.  Regs., Conn. State Agencies § 21a-408-28 (a). 

 

A. Dispensary Licenses 

 

A dispensary license is given to individuals who are qualified to acquire, possess, 

distribute, and dispense marijuana.  The individual must have both an active pharmacist 

license in good standing issued by DCP and have a position with a medical marijuana 

dispensary facility that has been awarded a license by DCP.  The initial license fee is 

$100 and the annual renewal fee is $100, all of which are nonrefundable.  General 

Statutes § 21a-408h; Regs., Conn. State Agencies § 21a-408-29 (6). 

 

B. Dispensary Facility Licenses 

 

A dispensary facility license is given to a place of business that qualifies to dispense or 

sell at retail marijuana to qualifying patients and primary caregivers.  Only a dispensary 

facility that has obtained a license from DCP may dispense marijuana to such individuals. 

The initial application fee is $5,000 with a $5,000 license fee, if approved, and a $5,000 

renewal fee, all of which are nonrefundable.  General Statutes § 21a-408h; Regs., Conn. 

State Agencies § 21a-408-29 (7) & (8). 

 

C. Producer Licenses 

 

A producer license allows the holder to operate a secure, indoor facility in which the 

production of marijuana occurs. 

 

The initial application fee is $25,000 with a $75,000 license fee, if selected to be a 

producer, and a $75,000 annual renewal fee.  All of these fees are nonrefundable.  

General Statutes § 21a-408i; Regs., Conn. State Agencies § 21a-408-29  (13).   

 

After the 2012 legislation passed legalizing medical marijuana and DCP’s regulations for 

the program were approved, consistent with its charge of administering the program, 

DCP issued a request for applications for producer licenses, seeking to award three, with 

an application deadline of November 15, 2013.  There were 16 applications and the State 

awarded four licenses after two tied for third.2 

                                                 
1 All of the information in this Background section is taken from DCP’s website, 

https://portal.ct.gov/DCP/Medical-Marijuana-Program/Medical-Marijuana-Program, unless otherwise 

noted, and confirmed in discussions with its staff. 

  
2 Ken Dixon, “Four companies win marijuana-growing licenses,” Connecticut Post, January 28, 2014, 

https://www.ctpost.com/news/article/Four-companies-win-marijuana-growing-licenses-5183225.php.  

https://portal.ct.gov/DCP/Medical-Marijuana-Program/Medical-Marijuana-Program
https://www.ctpost.com/news/article/Four-companies-win-marijuana-growing-licenses-5183225.php
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As of April 2018, the number of producers has remained at four, and the number of 

dispensary facilities has increased from six to nine.3  In addition, DCP awarded nine more 

dispensary facility licenses in December 2018. 

 

II. Relevant Statutes 

 

General Statutes § 9-612 (f) (1) (C) defines “state contract” as any agreement or 

contract: 

 with the state or any state agency or any quasi-public agency,  

 let through a procurement process or otherwise,  

 having a value of fifty thousand dollars or more, or a combination or series of 

such agreements or contracts having a value of one hundred thousand dollars or 

more in a calendar year,  

 for (i) the rendition of services, (ii) the furnishing of any goods, material, 

supplies, equipment or any items of any kind, (iii) the construction, alteration or 

repair of any public building or public work, (iv) the acquisition, sale or lease of 

any land or building, (v) a licensing arrangement, or (vi) a grant, loan or loan 

guarantee.4  

 

The statute goes on to state that “state contract” does not include any agreement or 

contract with the state, any state agency or any quasi-public agency that: 

 is exclusively federally funded,  

 an education loan,  

 a loan to an individual for other than commercial purposes  

 or any agreement or contract between the state or any state agency and the United 

States Department of the Navy or the United States Department of Defense. 

 

General Statutes § 9-612 (f) (1) (C). 

 

                                                 
 
3 Matthew Ormseth, “Medical Marijuana Patients Say There’s a Pot Shortage In Connecticut,” Hartford 

Courant, April 20, 2018, http://www.courant.com/news/connecticut/hc-news-marijuana-grower-shortage-

20180326-story.html; https://portal.ct.gov/DCP/Medical-Marijuana-Program/Connecticut-Medical-

Marijuana-Dispensary-Facilities.  

 
4 The statute provides in full: “State contract” means an agreement or contract with the state or any state 

agency or any quasi-public agency, let through a procurement process or otherwise, having a value of fifty 

thousand dollars or more, or a combination or series of such agreements or contracts having a value of one 

hundred thousand dollars or more in a calendar year, for (i) the rendition of services, (ii) the furnishing of 

any goods, material, supplies, equipment or any items of any kind, (iii) the construction, alteration or repair 

of any public building or public work, (iv) the acquisition, sale or lease of any land or building, (v) a 

licensing arrangement, or (vi) a grant, loan or loan guarantee. “State contract” does not include any 

agreement or contract with the state, any state agency or any quasi-public agency that is exclusively 

federally funded, an education loan, a loan to an individual for other than commercial purposes or any 

agreement or contract between the state or any state agency and the United States Department of the Navy 

or the United States Department of Defense.  General Statutes § 9-612 (f) (1) (C) (emphasis added). 

http://www.courant.com/news/connecticut/hc-news-marijuana-grower-shortage-20180326-story.html
http://www.courant.com/news/connecticut/hc-news-marijuana-grower-shortage-20180326-story.html
https://portal.ct.gov/DCP/Medical-Marijuana-Program/Connecticut-Medical-Marijuana-Dispensary-Facilities
https://portal.ct.gov/DCP/Medical-Marijuana-Program/Connecticut-Medical-Marijuana-Dispensary-Facilities
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If a given license qualifies as a state contract under the above language, then a company 

holding the license will be deemed a “state contractor” and a certain limited group of 

people within the company will be deemed “principals of state contractor” pursuant to  

General Statutes § 9-612 (f) (1) (D) & (E).  The designation as principal will result in 

limitations on contributions. General Statutes § 9-612 (f) (2) (B). 

 

III. Analysis 

 

The plain and broad language of General Statutes § 9-612 (f) (1) (C) indicates that the 

medical marijuana industry licenses would be considered agreements to enter a licensing 

arrangement and therefore state contracts.  The legislative history further bolsters this 

interpretation, as more fully discussed below. 

 

In his petition, Mr. Glassman essentially makes four assertions as to why the medical 

marijuana producer license should not be considered a state contract.  The Commission 

does not find any of these arguments persuasive and will address them in turn. 

 

Argument 1 – The definition of a “state contract” requires that the State is 

the party giving money and receiving products or services in return, which is 

not the case in the context of a medical marijuana industry license.  

 

The Petitioner argues that in order to be a “state contract,” there must be a bilateral 

negotiated written agreement wherein the contractor is receiving $50,000 or more from 

the State rather than the State being the party receiving payment.  According to the 

Petitioner’s preferred definition, the State must be receiving products or services and 

giving money. 

 

While this might be a fine definition of a state contract, it is not the definition in 

Connecticut’s state contractor provisions.  There is nothing in the plain language of 

General Statutes § 9-612 (f) that indicates the state contractor provisions are only 

triggered when the State is the party paying over $50,000 for something of value 

provided by the contractor as opposed to the contractor paying over $50,000 for 

something of value provided by the State.   

 

Arrangements resulting in payments to the State rather than from the State also fall within 

the definition of state contract and the Commission has long advised this.  For example, 

the Commission’s Frequently Asked Questions webpage for the state contractor 

provisions provide: 

  

Question: Is a contract with a state agency that produces revenue to the state 

included in the definition of a state contract and therefore subject to the 

contribution and solicitation ban? 

 

Answer: Yes.  Contracts that result in revenue to the state of Connecticut, such as 

payments paid by airlines to Bradley International Airport for use of 

communication towers, are considered state contracts for purposes of the ban.    
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SEEC Website, “Frequently Asked Questions for State Contractor Provisions,” 

https://www.ct.gov/seec/cwp/view.asp?a=3563&q=505580. 

 

In 2008, staff advised that a sales tax emption program would be considered a state 

contract even though under the program, the quasi-public agency would be the party 

selling the goods – specifically, in that case, it was the Connecticut Development 

Authority purchasing construction materials and selling them to program participants to 

essentially pass on its sales tax exemption.  In 2016, Commission staff members advised 

a nonprofit that had hired a local community college to provide services to them for over 

$50,000 that the arrangement would be considered a state contract even though the state 

was the party providing services and getting paid.  The statute is written broadly and 

works both ways.  Staff also advised that year that the state’s deal with Sikorsky Aircraft, 

where it offered the company millions of dollars in sales tax exemptions and grants, 

would also be covered because, again, the provisions work in both directions. 

 

It is also worth noting that the original state contractor ban enacted with Public Act 05-5 

included in the definition of “state contract” the “rendition of personal services” rather 

than “rendition of services” and included no definition of the phrase “rendition of 

personal services.”  In Opinion of Counsel 2006-6, Commission staff construed this 

phrase to mean:  “any agreement for any service rendered to the state, a state agency, or 

quasi-public agency for which the provider receives a fee, remuneration, or any 

compensation of any kind, either directly from the state or through the contractual 

arrangement with the state, unless otherwise specifically exempted.”   

 

The legislature agreed with this broad interpretation and actually amended the statute to 

make sure that the broad application was clear.  In Public Act 07-1, the definition of state 

contract was modified to include the phrase “rendition of services” rather than “rendition 

of personal services” and a definition of this phrase tracking that from Opinion of 

Counsel 2006-6 was also added to General Statutes § 9-612 (g) (1) (I) (now General 

Statutes § 9-612 (f) (1) (I)).  The legislature went on to further broaden other areas of the 

definition of state contract as well by amending the language we must now interpret as 

follows:  

 

(C) “State contract” means an agreement or contract with the state or any state 

agency or any quasi-public agency, let through a procurement process or 

otherwise, having a value of fifty thousand dollars or more, or a combination or 

series of such agreements or contracts having a value of one hundred thousand 

dollars or more in a [fiscal] calendar year, for (i) the rendition of [personal] 

services, (ii) the furnishing of any goods, material, supplies,[or] equipment or any 

items of any kind, (iii) the construction, alteration or repair of any public building 

or public work, (iv) the acquisition, sale or lease of any land or building, (v) a 

licensing arrangement, or (vi) a grant, loan or loan guarantee. “State contract” 

does not include any agreement or contract with the state, any state agency or any 

quasi-public agency that is exclusively federally funded, an education loan or a 

loan to an individual for other than commercial purposes. 

https://www.ct.gov/seec/cwp/view.asp?a=3563&q=505580
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The bill also added to the definition exceptions to the definition for education loans and 

for loans to an individual that were not for commercial purposes; thus, making it clear 

that all other loans are covered.   

 

The legislative history of the 2007 changes to the definition of state contracts includes 

this description of the legislature’s intent in doing so: “[O]ne of the things that this bill 

does is it expands the application of the prohibitions on contributions and solicitations by 

principals of state contractors to cover virtually any agreement, contract, or 

arrangement with the state for which the value is at least $50,000 in a calendar year, 

which includes fees, compensation, or remuneration of any kind.” S. Proc., 2007 Sess., 

pp. 51-52, remarks of Senator Slossberg (emphasis added). 

 

Individuals and entities who receive commercial loans, grants and tax incentives with 

large payments involved also have a motivation to protect that relationship and to endear 

themselves to the very people who control the award of such benefits.  So do those whose 

business receives a lucrative license in return for a payment of $50,000 or more.  It is 

precisely this type of licensing arrangement that the state contractor provisions are 

designed to prevent from influencing campaign finance. 

 

Argument 2 – The term “licensing arrangements” in General Statutes § 9-

612 (f) (1) is only meant to include arrangements where there is a bilateral 

understanding or agreement between the parties. 

 

The Petitioner also argues that the term “licensing arrangement” is only meant to include 

those arrangements where there is a bilateral understanding or agreement between the 

party and the State and therefore does not include the acquisition of a license required to 

run a business within the State.  He contends that “licensing arrangements” as used in the 

statute refers only to “the use of real estate or facilities often called ‘licenses’ because 

licenses tend to be for shorter terms than leases and do not convey interests in real 

estate.” 

   

He cites Black’s Law Dictionary for the following definition of “license” – “permission 

accorded by a competent authority, conferring the right to do some act which without 

such authorization would be illegal or would be a trespass or tort.”  Under this definition 

that the Petitioner himself has cited, it is enough that the act would be illegal to make the 

permission by a competent authority conferring a right into a license.  It does not have to 

be a trespass on real estate.  The marijuana producer license is a permission accorded by 

a competent authority, conferring the right to produce pot products which without such 

authorization would be illegal. 

 

The Commission further believes that there is an agreement between the State and the 

licensee in the context of a medical marijuana producer license.  In order to have the 

license, the producers must agree to abide by a number of terms as laid out in the statutes 

and regulations.  They must agree to not produce or manufacture marijuana in any place 

except their approved production facility, to not sell, deliver, transport or distribute 
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marijuana from any place except in their approved production facility, to not produce or 

manufacture marijuana for use outside of Connecticut, and to establish and maintain an 

escrow account in a financial institution in Connecticut in the amount of $2 million, to 

name a few.  Regs., Conn. State Agencies § 21a-408-54.  There are also requirements on 

how licensed producers keep records, which types of marijuana products they may sell, 

how they package, label, and transport their products, and how they maintain proper 

security at their facility.  Regs., Conn. State Agencies §§ 21a-408-56 through 21a-408-

57, 21a-408-62 through 21a-408-66.  And of course they are required to hold the license 

they receive (in exchange for submitting an application and payment and then, if chosen, 

abiding by the terms laid out in the statutes and regulations) in order to sell marijuana to 

dispensaries legally. 

 

The Petitioner’s offer of an alternative definition makes no sense.  In order to argue that 

“licensing arrangements” are really short-term real estate leases, he ignores the structure 

of the statute and seems to be applying the interpretive principle of noscitur a sociis 

which basically says that you interpret items in a list to be similar.  The problem with his 

argument, however, is that in order for it to work, the statute would have had to have 

been written with the following changes so that the term licensing arrangement really was 

part of the list that pertains to real estate: 

 

“State contract” means an agreement or contract with the state or any state 

agency or any quasi-public agency, let through a procurement process or 

otherwise, having a value of fifty thousand dollars or more, or a combination or 

series of such agreements or contracts having a value of one hundred thousand 

dollars or more in a calendar year, for (i) the rendition of services, (ii) the 

furnishing of any goods, material, supplies, equipment or any items of any kind, 

(iii) the construction, alteration or repair of any public building or public work, 

(iv) the acquisition, sale or lease of any land or building, [(v)] or a licensing 

arrangement, or [(vi)] (v) a grant, loan or loan guarantee. “State contract” does 

not include any agreement or contract with the state, any state agency or any 

quasi-public agency that is exclusively federally funded, an education loan, a loan 

to an individual for other than commercial purposes or any agreement or contract.  

(Emphasis added). 

 

The statute is not so written.  Instead the term licensing arrangement stands alone and 

separate from the language regarding real estate.  The Petitioner is attempting to subsume 

item (v) of the list into item (iv).  Such a result would essentially render the term 

meaningless since the language used in item (iv) is already so broad as to cover short-

term leases.  See Sylvan R. Shemitz Designs, Inc., v. Newark Corp., 291 Conn. 224, 235 

(2009) (“It is a basic tenet of statutory construction . . . that the legislature does not intend 

to enact meaningless provisions.” (internal quotation marks omitted)). 

 

The statute, as written, simply does not support the Petitioner’s argument that licensing 

arrangements are only real estate licenses. 
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Argument 3 – Determination of the $50,000 threshold should not be based on 

the income derived from the contract. 

 

The Petitioner maintains that Commission staff verbally advised him that it is the income 

derived by the licensee in the industry that is the operative amount considered in 

determining whether the $50,000 threshold has been met.  He goes on to assert that this 

would cover most licensees in the State because most of them generate an income and 

profit for the license holder greater than $50,000. 

 

Staff never advised the Petitioner that the determination of the $50,000 threshold would 

be based on what a person or entity earned as a result of holding the license.  Rather, the 

Petitioner was advised that the $50,000 threshold is determined by the payment 

exchanged.  With respect to two of the three marijuana licenses, this means they are not 

covered because the payment involved with those two licensing arrangements is well 

below $50,000 per year.  The payment for a dispensary license is $100-$200 annually and 

the payment for a dispensary facility license is $5,000-$10,000 annually.  In the case of 

the medical marijuana provider license, however, the cost of obtaining and/or 

maintaining the license each year is easily determined and is well over the $50,000 

threshold. 

 

Argument 4 – Deeming the medical marijuana industry licenses to be state 

contracts would mean that occupational licenses such as those for 

hairdressers, barbers, doctors, lawyers, liquor store operators, and 

restauranteurs would also be covered. 

 

The Petitioner also argues that “the logical extension of [Commission staff’s] position 

would result in everyone who needs an occupational permit or license to be considered a 

state contractor.” 

 

As previously discussed, the legislature defined “state contract” to require, among other 

things, that payments involved between the state and contractor had to amount to $50,000 

or more in a calendar year.  Unlike the medical marijuana producer license, the licenses 

required of hairdressers, barbers, lawyers, and liquor store operators do not involve 

payments of $50,000 or more.  In fact, while the Department of Consumer Protection 

issues over 200 types of licenses, permits and credentials, only one of them costs over 

$50,000 per year – the medical marijuana producer license.5  

 

 

                                                 
5 Email from Department of Consumer Protection Commissioner Michelle Seagull, dated November 29, 

2018.  Commissioner Seagull noted in her email that sealed ticket distributors pay a license fee per year of 

only $2,500 but often pay over $50,000 per year to the State as they are required to pay a percentage of 

their sales back to the State.  Whether they would be considered state contractors would be a separate 

discussion.  Sealed tickets are lottery type scratch-off tickets that are sold typically to nonprofit 

organizations to sell at their fundraising events where the nonprofit pays out any winnings.  Telephone 

conversation with Charles Kostruba and James Schmitt of the Department of Consumer Protection’s 

Charitable Games Unit, November 30, 2018. 
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IV. Conclusion 

 

Given that the cost of a medical marijuana producer license exceeds $50,000 per year and 

the definition of state contractor includes “a licensing arrangement,” the Commission 

concludes that the producer license is covered under the state contractor restrictions while 

the remaining two types of licenses issued under the program, dispensary and dispensary 

facility, are not given that they cost less than $50,000 per year.6 

 

Adopted this __th day of February, 2019 at Hartford, Connecticut by a vote of the 

Commission.  

 

 

 

      ___________________________ 

      Anthony J. Castagno, Chairman 

 

                                                 
6 The resulting contribution and solicitation restrictions laid out in General Statutes § 9-612 (f) do not apply 

to everyone who works at the licensee but only to those who are considered principals.  Anyone seeking 

guidance on whether they meet the definition of principal is urged to call Commission staff. 


