Campaign Disclosure and Audit Unit

The Campaign Disclosure and Audit Unit acts as the repository for all committee registrations, financial reports and forms related to the Citizens' Election Program (CEP). The Unit is also responsible for reviewing all financial reports received and providing feedback and recommendations for corrective action to treasurers.

Upon a candidate committee's application for funds under the Citizens' Election Program, the Unit is responsible for reviewing the application and making recommendations to the Commission.

Unit staff works closely with members of all other Units in the agency; acting as facilitators in trainings regarding the Electronic Campaign Reporting Information System (eCRIS), the Citizens' Election Program, filing requirements for party, political, and municipal candidate committees. Staff is also involved in assisting in the enhancements to the electronic filing system.

The Campaign Disclosure and Audit Unit takes great pride in its ability to provide assistance to individuals involved in campaigns and committee work through a cooperative effort of education and feedback. Our motto is "Compliance through Cooperation".

Organization of Staff

Linda Waterman - Director of Campaign Disclosure and Audit Unit     860-256-2940

Salman Munir - Associate Accounts Examiner     860-256-2940

Dinorah Collado - Accounts Examiner     860-256-2940

Krysta Palozie - Accounts Examiner     860-256-2940

Nicole Petit - Accounts Examiner     860-256-2940

Ergys Guni - Accounts Examiner     860-256-2940

Rhonda Salvatore - Accounts Examiner     860-256-2940


Appointments to the Commission are divided equally amongst the Governor and the four highest ranking leaders of the General Assembly, the Speaker of the House, House Minority Leader, Senate President Pro Tempore and the Senate Minority Leader. Since its inception in 1974, there have been 44 appointments to the Commission and 11 Commission chairs.

Current Commissioners

   Stephen Penny - Chair

Attorney Stephen T. Penny was appointed to serve as a Commissioner by then Senate President Pro Tempore Donald Williams on August 7, 2013. Mr. Penny graduated from Ohio Wesleyan University with a B.A. degree in 1970, and from the University of Connecticut School of Law with a J.D. degree in 1973. Since that time, he has been engaged in the general practice of law in the Town of Manchester, including real estate, litigation, labor relations, municipal and zoning law. He currently is a law partner at Penny, Botticello & O'Brien, P.C., also in Manchester. Mr. Penny is a former mayor of Manchester, having served on its Board of Directors for ten years. He currently sits on the Cheney Hall Foundation Board and was President of the Manchester Rotary Club. He is also a member of Friendship Lodge of Masons, Sphinx Temple Shriners, and is the announcer at the Manchester Road Race, one of the oldest and most respected races in the country.

   Michael J. Ajello - Vice Chair

Michael J. Ajello was appointed to the Commission by then Senate Minority Leader John McKinney in November 2013. By profession, he is an attorney and has been for over twenty years. His practice is focused in the areas of real estate closings, real estate law, and civil litigation. A large portion of his litigation experience involves real estate issues including foreclosures, condemnation actions, partition actions, land use appeals, summary process and other landlord-tenant disputes, and other property related litigation, as well as commercial litigation, and contracts. He has also served as Chairman of the Planning and Zoning Commission of Hamden. Mr. Ajello has a Bachelor of Science degree from Northeastern University and a Juris Doctor from Thomas M. Cooley Law School, and was past president of the Paradise Country Club.

   Shannon Bergquist

   Andrew Cascudo

Andrew Cascudo was appointed to the Commission by Governor Dannel P. Malloy for a term commencing July 2018. Mr. Cascudo is a graduate of the University of Connecticut with a bachelor’s degree in Political Science as well as the University of Connecticut School of Law. He currently serves as in-house counsel for Aetna where he supports contracting, product development, financial sanction and anti-corruption compliance as well as Aetna International’s entry into new markets in North America, Latin America and the Caribbean; he previously served as Aetna International’s Compliance Officer for the Americas. Prior to joining Aetna, Mr. Cascudo served as an Elections Officer and Staff Attorney for the State Elections Enforcement Commission and was part of the team that launched the Citizens’ Election Program in 2008. Mr. Cascudo has also held various roles for political parties and campaigns on the state and national level.

   Gregory Piecuch


   Former Commissioners

Anthony J. Castagno 2016-2021

Salvatore A. Bramante 2016-2021

Patricia Stankevicius - 2009-2018

Stephen F. Cashman, Chair - 2000-2013

Joan B. Jenkins - 2003-2013

Richard C. Bozzuto - 2007-2012

Teresa B. Gerratana - 2009-2010

Father Michael J. Dolan - 2006-2009

Santa Mendoza - 2002-2007

Tracey Green Cleary - 2004-2005

Audrey D. Brett - 2009-2018

William R. Sokolowski, Chair - 1996-2004

Albert Rogers, Chair - 1987-2003

Amalia M. Toro - 2000-2002

Alice W. Lynch, Chair - 1982-2002

Laurence D. Cohen -1995-

Nicholas F. Serignese - 1995-2000

Michael H. Handler - 1990-2000

Joseph F. Skelley - 1985-1988

Robert S. Orcutt - 1985-1995

Richard L. Sturdevant - 1984-1985

Edward W. Leonard - 1982-1987

Susan Hobbie Bennet - 1981-1984

Andrew D. Coleman, Chair - 1980-1995

Samuel E. Slaiby - 1980-1985

Alan H. Nevas - 1979-1980

William Smythe -1979-

Richard F.Jones, Jr. -1978-

H. Bacon Collamore, Jr., Chair - 1978-1982

Marylouise Fennell - 1978-1982

James Demetriades - 1978-1980

Dalila Soto, Chair - 1978-1980

William T. Kosturko, Chair - 1976-1978

Herbert Emaneulson - 1975-1978

Thomas Kendig -1976-

Carl Guglietta - 1975-1977

Donald Paolucci - 1974-1975

Joseph T. Domingue - 1974-1975

James J. Conefrey - 1974-1978

Claire S. Jacobs, Chair - 1974-1978

Lester B. Snyder, Chair - 1974-1975

Telephone: 860-256-2940

Telephone: 866-SEEC-INFO (866-733-2463)

Fax: 860 256-2981

Fax: 860 256-2983